Determination of the neutron spin structure function

P. L. Anthony, R. G. Arnold, H. R. Band, H. Borel, P. E. Bosted, V. Breton, G. D. Cates, T. E. Chupp, F. S. Dietrich, J. Dunne, R. Erbacher, J. Fellbaum, H. Fonvieille, R. Gearhart, R. Holmes, E. W. Hughes, J. R. Johnson, D. Kawall, C. Keppel, S. E. KuhnR. M. Lombard-Nelsen, J. Marroncle, T. Maruyama, W. Meyer, Z. E. Meziani, H. Middleton, J. Morgenstern, N. R. Newbury, G. G. Petratos, R. Pitthan, R. Prepost, Y. Roblin, S. E. Rock, S. H. Rokni, G. Shapiro, T. Smith, Paul A Souder, M. Spengos, F. Staley, L. M. Stuart, Z. M. Szalata, Y. Terrien, A. K. Thompson, J. L. White, M. Woods, J. Xu, C. C. Young, G. Zapalac

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

501 Citations (Scopus)


The spin structure function of the neutron g1n has been determined over the range 0.03<x<0.6 at an average Q2 of 2 (GeV/c)2 by measuring the asymmetry in deep inelastic scattering of polarized electrons from a polarized He3 target at energies between 19 and 26 GeV. The integral of the neutron spin structure function is found to be F01g1n(x)dx=-0.022±0.011. Earlier reported proton results together with the Bjorken sum rule predict F01g1n(x)dx=-0.059±0.019.

Original languageEnglish (US)
Pages (from-to)959-962
Number of pages4
JournalPhysical Review Letters
Issue number7
StatePublished - 1993


sum rules
inelastic scattering

ASJC Scopus subject areas

  • Physics and Astronomy(all)

Cite this

Anthony, P. L., Arnold, R. G., Band, H. R., Borel, H., Bosted, P. E., Breton, V., ... Zapalac, G. (1993). Determination of the neutron spin structure function. Physical Review Letters, 71(7), 959-962.

Determination of the neutron spin structure function. / Anthony, P. L.; Arnold, R. G.; Band, H. R.; Borel, H.; Bosted, P. E.; Breton, V.; Cates, G. D.; Chupp, T. E.; Dietrich, F. S.; Dunne, J.; Erbacher, R.; Fellbaum, J.; Fonvieille, H.; Gearhart, R.; Holmes, R.; Hughes, E. W.; Johnson, J. R.; Kawall, D.; Keppel, C.; Kuhn, S. E.; Lombard-Nelsen, R. M.; Marroncle, J.; Maruyama, T.; Meyer, W.; Meziani, Z. E.; Middleton, H.; Morgenstern, J.; Newbury, N. R.; Petratos, G. G.; Pitthan, R.; Prepost, R.; Roblin, Y.; Rock, S. E.; Rokni, S. H.; Shapiro, G.; Smith, T.; Souder, Paul A; Spengos, M.; Staley, F.; Stuart, L. M.; Szalata, Z. M.; Terrien, Y.; Thompson, A. K.; White, J. L.; Woods, M.; Xu, J.; Young, C. C.; Zapalac, G.

In: Physical Review Letters, Vol. 71, No. 7, 1993, p. 959-962.

Research output: Contribution to journalArticle

Anthony, PL, Arnold, RG, Band, HR, Borel, H, Bosted, PE, Breton, V, Cates, GD, Chupp, TE, Dietrich, FS, Dunne, J, Erbacher, R, Fellbaum, J, Fonvieille, H, Gearhart, R, Holmes, R, Hughes, EW, Johnson, JR, Kawall, D, Keppel, C, Kuhn, SE, Lombard-Nelsen, RM, Marroncle, J, Maruyama, T, Meyer, W, Meziani, ZE, Middleton, H, Morgenstern, J, Newbury, NR, Petratos, GG, Pitthan, R, Prepost, R, Roblin, Y, Rock, SE, Rokni, SH, Shapiro, G, Smith, T, Souder, PA, Spengos, M, Staley, F, Stuart, LM, Szalata, ZM, Terrien, Y, Thompson, AK, White, JL, Woods, M, Xu, J, Young, CC & Zapalac, G 1993, 'Determination of the neutron spin structure function', Physical Review Letters, vol. 71, no. 7, pp. 959-962.
Anthony PL, Arnold RG, Band HR, Borel H, Bosted PE, Breton V et al. Determination of the neutron spin structure function. Physical Review Letters. 1993;71(7):959-962.
Anthony, P. L. ; Arnold, R. G. ; Band, H. R. ; Borel, H. ; Bosted, P. E. ; Breton, V. ; Cates, G. D. ; Chupp, T. E. ; Dietrich, F. S. ; Dunne, J. ; Erbacher, R. ; Fellbaum, J. ; Fonvieille, H. ; Gearhart, R. ; Holmes, R. ; Hughes, E. W. ; Johnson, J. R. ; Kawall, D. ; Keppel, C. ; Kuhn, S. E. ; Lombard-Nelsen, R. M. ; Marroncle, J. ; Maruyama, T. ; Meyer, W. ; Meziani, Z. E. ; Middleton, H. ; Morgenstern, J. ; Newbury, N. R. ; Petratos, G. G. ; Pitthan, R. ; Prepost, R. ; Roblin, Y. ; Rock, S. E. ; Rokni, S. H. ; Shapiro, G. ; Smith, T. ; Souder, Paul A ; Spengos, M. ; Staley, F. ; Stuart, L. M. ; Szalata, Z. M. ; Terrien, Y. ; Thompson, A. K. ; White, J. L. ; Woods, M. ; Xu, J. ; Young, C. C. ; Zapalac, G. / Determination of the neutron spin structure function. In: Physical Review Letters. 1993 ; Vol. 71, No. 7. pp. 959-962.
title = "Determination of the neutron spin structure function",
abstract = "The spin structure function of the neutron g1n has been determined over the range 0.03",
author = "Anthony, {P. L.} and Arnold, {R. G.} and Band, {H. R.} and H. Borel and Bosted, {P. E.} and V. Breton and Cates, {G. D.} and Chupp, {T. E.} and Dietrich, {F. S.} and J. Dunne and R. Erbacher and J. Fellbaum and H. Fonvieille and R. Gearhart and R. Holmes and Hughes, {E. W.} and Johnson, {J. R.} and D. Kawall and C. Keppel and Kuhn, {S. E.} and Lombard-Nelsen, {R. M.} and J. Marroncle and T. Maruyama and W. Meyer and Meziani, {Z. E.} and H. Middleton and J. Morgenstern and Newbury, {N. R.} and Petratos, {G. G.} and R. Pitthan and R. Prepost and Y. Roblin and Rock, {S. E.} and Rokni, {S. H.} and G. Shapiro and T. Smith and Souder, {Paul A} and M. Spengos and F. Staley and Stuart, {L. M.} and Szalata, {Z. M.} and Y. Terrien and Thompson, {A. K.} and White, {J. L.} and M. Woods and J. Xu and Young, {C. C.} and G. Zapalac",
year = "1993",
doi = "10.1103/PhysRevLett.71.959",
language = "English (US)",
volume = "71",
pages = "959--962",
journal = "Physical Review Letters",
issn = "0031-9007",
publisher = "American Physical Society",
number = "7",



T1 - Determination of the neutron spin structure function

AU - Anthony, P. L.

AU - Arnold, R. G.

AU - Band, H. R.

AU - Borel, H.

AU - Bosted, P. E.

AU - Breton, V.

AU - Cates, G. D.

AU - Chupp, T. E.

AU - Dietrich, F. S.

AU - Dunne, J.

AU - Erbacher, R.

AU - Fellbaum, J.

AU - Fonvieille, H.

AU - Gearhart, R.

AU - Holmes, R.

AU - Hughes, E. W.

AU - Johnson, J. R.

AU - Kawall, D.

AU - Keppel, C.

AU - Kuhn, S. E.

AU - Lombard-Nelsen, R. M.

AU - Marroncle, J.

AU - Maruyama, T.

AU - Meyer, W.

AU - Meziani, Z. E.

AU - Middleton, H.

AU - Morgenstern, J.

AU - Newbury, N. R.

AU - Petratos, G. G.

AU - Pitthan, R.

AU - Prepost, R.

AU - Roblin, Y.

AU - Rock, S. E.

AU - Rokni, S. H.

AU - Shapiro, G.

AU - Smith, T.

AU - Souder, Paul A

AU - Spengos, M.

AU - Staley, F.

AU - Stuart, L. M.

AU - Szalata, Z. M.

AU - Terrien, Y.

AU - Thompson, A. K.

AU - White, J. L.

AU - Woods, M.

AU - Xu, J.

AU - Young, C. C.

AU - Zapalac, G.

PY - 1993

Y1 - 1993

N2 - The spin structure function of the neutron g1n has been determined over the range 0.03

AB - The spin structure function of the neutron g1n has been determined over the range 0.03

UR -

UR -

U2 - 10.1103/PhysRevLett.71.959

DO - 10.1103/PhysRevLett.71.959

M3 - Article

AN - SCOPUS:0011432318

VL - 71

SP - 959

EP - 962

JO - Physical Review Letters

JF - Physical Review Letters

SN - 0031-9007

IS - 7

ER -